Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 16th, 2005

I am on holiday. I shouldn’t be finding so much time to blog stuff,
and I’m not sure why I’ve suddenly felt the need to blog so much. Maybe
because I have neglected my blog lately and maybe because I think it
will help my writing. Maybe because I think I haven’t done enough
writing this term and am trying to compensate and keep my mind buzzing,
or maybe because I have nothing better to do at night in my
grandparents house…Whatever.

The point of this entry is that
I was looking through my travel notebook and found some quotes that I
had made a note of a while back. They may be of interest…

‘…how
delightful other people’s emotions were! – much more delightful than
their ideas…One’s own soul, and the passions of one’s friends – those
were the fascinating things in life.’

‘Beauty is a form of
Genius…as it needs no explanation. It is one of the great facts of the
world, like sunlight, or springtime, or the reflection in dark waters
of that silver shell we call the moon.’

‘It is said that passion makes one think in a circle.’

All taken from The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde

Read Full Post »

Sequence poem part III

Follow-up to Bleugh from Into the Flame

Here’s the third part to my sequence poem.

III

Five-to-nine

it is always five-to-nine in this bed, always
five-to-nine as the other clocks chime and the air outside
travels between day and night, black to white.

it is always five to nine, when they bring me breakfast
always five-to-nine when they bring lunch
and always five-to-nine when i eat my dinner.

it was five-to-nine when his heart stopped, they say,
and it will be five-to-nine when i close my eyes
for the last time;

it will be as though we passed away in the same moment,
immortalised together in the atom of five-to-nine.
so let the other clocks chime and let the days pass,

and i will be content in this one minute world,
the three dimensions of these four walls
and the silent tick of my heart for company.

Read Full Post »

Things to keep in mind…

Writing about Quotes on the Wall from Sarrouche’s blog

I’m going to make this link to Sarah’s list of the poetry quotes on
the wall in our seminar room, so I can track back whenever I need some
guidance. They’re good to keep in mind.

(Thanks Sarah!)

Read Full Post »